The Pular alphabet

It is made of 35 letters (with the digraphs):

a b ɓ mb c d ɗ nd e f g ng h i j nj k l m n ŋ ñ o p q r s sh t u w x y ƴ z

The headwords of the dictionary are sorted according to the above alphabetical order. The letters q, sh, x and z are very rare and occur generally in words borrowed from Arabic. The apostroph ' which represents the glottal stop is not included in the list since it is only spelled where it occurs in the middle of a word, for example in a'ere "belch". It is usually not marked at the word-initial.