The Wayuu Alphabet


There are 20 letters:


a ch e i j k ꞌ l m n o p r s sh t u ü w y


The Wayuu (to English and Spanish) part of the dictionary is arranged alphabetically according to the above order. The (ꞌ) is a glottal stop consonant ("saltillo"), only occurring within a word. The (ü) is a high, central vowel, pronounced similar to the "u" but with unrounded lips and slightly more forward in the mouth.